Dustin Reviews: The Void by Bryan Healey


She believes I am all but dead.
But I can hear her…

A man is trapped in his own mind. Confined to a hospital bed for years, his family and friends believing him all but dead; somehow he can still hear. And he listens, he keeps breathing, keeps thinking, as those around him suddenly condemn him to death. With a life destined to end, he recounts his battlefield experience of death and violence, his own struggle with drug addiction and depression, and coming to terms with his own mortality, the importance of family and the meaning of life. And as he thinks, he lays, still as always, wondering when the final moment will arrive…

Bryan Healey has done it again with The Void. His unique style of story telling and his ability to draw the reader inside the head of a character is truly inspiring. Max is trapped inside a vegetative body, with no way of communicating or indicating to those around him that he is alive inside. Unable to move, speak or open his eyes, Max can only perceive a limited world that exists around him through what he hears. This is a moving story told through Max’s thoughts and memories. This could have easily been a morbid story, but Healey‘s writing style creates an empathy for Max and what he experiences. A must read for anyone who has undergone the nightmare of dealing with a comatose family member or close friend who had not prepared a Living Will.

4++ out of 5 stars

One comment on “Dustin Reviews: The Void by Bryan Healey

  1. This is an early post but I just wanted to say “Thank You” for letting me be included in your Hop Against Homophobia. I am afraid I am not a talented m/m fiction writer like your authors but I am an avid reader of it.

    I guess I do not fit into any category really since I write non-fiction for an adult studio. http://shadowsterling.blogspot.com/2012/04/studio-i-write-for.html

    But this is a cause I feel strongly about and I wanted to let you know I appreciate the opportunity to be included.

Leave a Reply

