No eReader Required


Just this last month, I released my first published novella (Storm of Passion). Woo Hoo! However, I have recently learned that a number of my friends declined to download the digital version of my book because they did not have a Kindle, Nook, Kobo or other eReader device.

WOW! I was unaware that there  are a lot of folks missing out on the benefits of ebooks because they do not know they can access ebooks on a Pad, laptop, PC or even a Smart Phone. Anyone who can logon to check their Facebook status can read an ebook from that same machine without purchasing additional software.

I was introduced to ebooks a decade ago, basically when they were mostly “get rich quick” schemes. eBooks have come a long way since those days. Today, you can read  just about anything from the classics to the latest NY Best Seller from just about any machine that connects to the Internet. I don’t own a Kindle, but I can read my Kindle books from the  free Kindle app on my smart phone. My smart phone as well as my laptop have free apps that permit me to read most digital formats on one or the other. I have 3 libraries, physical paper bound books in my bedroom,  a collection of ebooks on my laptop and another collection on my smart phone. No matter where I am, a good book is within my reach.

One comment on “No eReader Required

  1. taureanw says:

    It still surprises me how many people still do not have e-readers. I got mine back when the Kindle was $300+ so I understood why some people had not yet jumped in. But now you can get them for $130. I do have a couple of friends that admitted they enjoy the feel of turning pages & that is why they haven’t gone digital. I’m sure there were people who enjoyed the warmth of a candle before they switched over to electrical light, but I believe it is the future 🙂

Leave a Reply

