Why Write GAY?


 

“He has never been known to use a word that might send a reader to the dictionary.” ~ William Faulkner (about Ernest Hemingway)

“So, why do you write gay stories?” I was asked.

The best advice I have ever been given about writing is “write what you know”. Okay, so I’ve been an out gay male for what? Forty years now. Guess that’s probably something I know a little bit about, right?

There have been situations and encounters in my life that have prompted sparks of ideas which exploded into a full fledged story lines. Yes, there maybe a smidgen of myself in each story I write, but that is what I build a story around. I begin with something, an element from my past, and create the characters and plots from a stable starting point. Somewhere along the writing process reality blurs with fiction and a fictional story emerges.

“Why not write heterosexual stories that appeal to the general public?” was her next question.

I don’t write to “sell” a story, I write because I have a story to tell. So, my brain is not commercially wired to target my writing toward the commercial machine. Does that me a bad person? I write because I like to tell stories, entertain, teach, share ideas, etc. Okay, so I enjoy embellishing my real life existence to make myself appear more interesting. After all, the life I lead in my head is far more exciting than my boring day-to-day life. Fictional writing is a way for me to channel the imagined life which exists in my head to life. I live my imagined life on my laptop in the form of written fiction. I don’t dwell on speculating if my story might or might not sell. I focus on creating my story. I’m simply a story teller, sharing my imagination with others, in hopes they will find a shred of entertainment from my yarns.

Leave a Reply

