Voyeur or Exibitionist?


Voyeur or Exibitionist

“A synonym is a word you use when you can’t spell the other one.”  ~ Baltasar Gracián

Each evening before going to sleep, I snuggle all comfy in my bed, turn on my reading lamp and lose myself in a few chapters of a gay novel. It’s the time of day that I look forward —  to escape my perception of the  world and enter the creation which someone else has written. Books are stacked next to the bed that are waiting to be read, many more sleep on overly stuffed shelves across the room, those are the adventures that I have already read.

During my vast reads, I have discovered that there are two different kinds of writers in the field of gay (man-on-man) fiction. One would think that one gay fiction would be similar to another, at least I thought so, until I discovered the author’s gender makes a difference. Male authors tend to write with a sense of “drama” with exciting fast-paced plots and engaging characters. Not to discredit female authors, but their plot lines are softer and more predictable. There is another aspect that seems to be prevalent between the two, in that male authors do not take the reader into the private bedrooms. They tend to close the bedroom door, leaving the door barely ajar, so that the reader gets a glancing peek into the private sex lives of his characters. While the female writer flings open the door, revealing a microscopic view of the sexual encounter. It makes me feel like a voyeur, that I am intruding on something that I was not welcome. Not to mention the fact that I enjoy my reading time as a time to relax — not wishing to become aroused, where I will be left with a tired hand covered in lube. If I had desired erotica, I would have clicked on the laptop.

Mind you, I am not bashing female gay novelists or females in general. Yes, I am a gay male, but I enjoy the company of females, but I prefer to be laying with a man in my bed. I am simply stating an observation, with a sprinkling of my own reading preference thrown in. However, I have come to understand that a female writer is writing for a heterosexual female audience (who would have thought that straight women would want to read about gay male romance?), while the male is writing for a gay male audience.

Now that I have come to grips with why there is a difference in writing styles between the genders, I can appreciate both writing styles. Yet, I prefer novels written by men. To read those, does not require a bottle of lube on the night stand.

Leave a Reply

